2019 Awards & Scholarship Gala

Each year HAH recognizes top-performing staff from Hawaii’s hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, assisted living facilities, home care companies and hospices.  Join HAH as we honor the caregivers, physicians, leaders and behind-the-scenes heroes who profoundly impact people’s lives every day.

This year, the 2019 HAH Awards and Scholarship Gala “Royal Red Ball” will be held on Saturday, October 26 at the Ko`olau Ballrooms.

RSVPs are due by October 4.

    We understand that your schedule may change and prevent you from attending this event. Cancellations will be accepted and refunded if submitted by Sept. 28; please call us at 521-8961. Substitutions of attendees are always accepted. Refunds will not be given for "no shows".

  • Please indicate how many ticket(s) or table(s) you would like to purchase.
  • Please indicate if you will be sending a check in for payment or if you are paying by credit card.

    Please make checks payable to HAH and mail to:
    707 Richards Street, PH2, Honolulu, HI 96813.

    If you are paying by credit card please submit the credit card authorization form found HERE.

    Contact Gail Coleman or Gina Gibo at (808) 521-8961 for assistance.

  • If you are interested in becoming a sponsor, please indicate one of the sponsorships below.
  • If you are already a sponsor, please indicate your sponsorship below.
  • Please type in the INDIVIDUAL names and email addresses of all attendees.

    Click on the + sign on the right of the last column to enter numerous names.

    Please check the COMPLIMENTARY SEAT only if you are a Award or Scholarship Winner or the guest of the Winner.

    Buffet dinner will be served this year.

    First NameLast NameCOMPLIMENTARY SEATE-mail Address 

Award Winners


Brandy Boyce, RN
Kapi`olani Medical Center for Women & Children





Lyne Elsman and Jocelyn Nishioka
The Queen’s Medical Center

Walter Igawa-Silva, MD
Straub Medical Center
Veterans Affairs Pacific Islands Health Care System





Mervin (Merv) Lum, RPh
Foodland Pharmacy – Kapolei






Agusta (Angie) Yoro
Kalākaua Gardens








Kurt Akamine, NHA, PNG

Garden Isle Rehabilitation and Healthcare





Brenda Ho, MS, RN
Hawaii Care Choices formerly Hospice of Hilo





Distinguished Service
Fawn Gould
Pali Momi Medical Center






Arthur Ushijima
The Queen’s Health Systems





Laura Bonilla, FACHE, MA, BSN
Kapiolani Medical Center for Women & Children





Physician of the Year
Elliot Kalauawa, MD
Waikiki Health






Professional with Heart
Mohammad Khalil, RN
Pali Momi Medical Center






Public Health
Joy Barua, MBA, MA-OC
Kaiser Permanente






Rose Ann Poyzer Caregiver
Ruth Chow
CareResource Hawaii






Emergency Manager
Striker Thomas
Shriners Hospitals for Children-Honolulu





Achievement in Advocacy
Representative Sylvia Luke







Legislator of the Year
Representative Joy San Buenaventura






Legislator of the Year
Senator Russell Ruderman





Scholarship Winners

Community College

  • Steven Offenbaker (North Hawaii Community Hospital)
  • Lauren Huynh (DLS)


  • Angie Wong Barrios (Adventist Health Castle)
  • Jessica Hermano (Kapiolani Medical Center for Women & Children
  • Marty Collins (Wilcox Medical Center)
  • Reichel Yamashiro (Rehabilitation Hospital of the Pacific)
  • Rhoelyn Cortez (The Queen’s Medical Center)


  • Bethany Lukens (The Queen’s Medical Center)
  • Jayce Arakaki (Hawaii Pacific Health)
  • Jennifer Kurian (The Queen’s Medical Center)


  • Arielle Magpoc (Shriners Hospitals for Children-Honolulu)
  • Mary Guo (Palolo Chinese Home)
  • Michael Schweikert II (The Queen’s Medical Center)
  • Mirie Hara (The Queen’s Medical Center)


Silent Auction Donations

Support scholarships for Hawaii students studying in healthcare fields by donating to the Silent Auction. Last year we raised more than $9,000 for scholarships from the Silent Auction. Popular auction items include gift cards, electronics, jewelry, spa services, travel, gourmet foods gift baskets, and art. To make a donation please fill out the donation form.  Please direct questions to Sharie Higashionna-Ibarra at sibarra@hah.org, or (808) 521-8961. Mahalo!       

Become a Sponsor

It is Hawaii’s premier annual healthcare gala, and we would like you to be part of it. This celebration generally brings together nearly 400 guests from across the state of Hawaii to honor these Heroes.  It is deeply rewarding seeing those who care for the people of Hawaii recognized for the high quality, compassionate care they give every day.

Please join in the celebration with us and your healthcare industry colleagues, academic partners, scholarship recipients, and other guests, by supporting our Hawaii Healthcare Heroes at the annual Awards and Scholarship Gala.  We have a variety of sponsorship options ranging from $1,200 to $20,000. Benefit packages may include exposure across a variety of media platforms, advertisements in the program book, award presentation opportunities, and seats or tables at the Gala.

Sponsorships without media benefits are due by August 20.  Contact Stacy Wong at swong@hah.org for more information.

Sponsor Benefit Grid

Sponsor Reservation Form


Mahalo to Our Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

Diamond Sponsors


Silver Sponsors

Ruby Sponsors














Emerald Sponsors








Pearl Sponsors

























Media Sponsors